Honors Faculty Advisors

The Honors College and departments across campus have provided an Honors Faculty Advisor for students in every college. Faculty advisors can help you explore ideas for your thesis, connect with other faculty in the department to supervise your thesis work and, in some cases, develop a plan to complete Honors track requirements.

Departmental Honors tracks have specific course requirements that must be completed to earn an Honors degree. Students need to meet with the Honors Faculty Advisor in their department to be admitted to the Honors track and fulfill track requirements. Confirm whether your major has an Honors track in the table below.

 

College

Department  

Honors Advisor

Email

Architecture + Planning College Advisor Grant Allen grant.allen@arch.utah.edu
Architecture Mira Locher locher@arch.utah.edu
City & Metropolitan Planning Keith Bartholomew bartholomew@arch.utah.edu
Multi-Disciplinary Design Jim Agutter agutterja@arch.utah.edu
Business Undergraduate Advising Services (academic advising) advising@eccles.utah.edu
Accounting (thesis advising) Roger Silvers Roger.Silvers@Eccles.Utah.edu
Finance (thesis advising) Matt Ringgenberg matthew.ringgenberg@eccles.utah.edu
Information Systems, Operations Management (thesis advising) Vandana Ramachandran vandana.ramachandran@eccles.utah.edu
Marketing (thesis advising) Ian Skurnik Ian.Skurnik@Eccles.Utah.edu
Business Administration (thesis advising) Jess Taverna Jessica.Taverna@Eccles.Utah.edu
Entrepreneurship (thesis advising) Brad Williams Brad.Williams@Eccles.Utah.edu
Management (thesis advising) Harris Sondak harris.sondak@eccles.utah.edu
Education Elementary Education Mary Burbank mary.burbank@utah.edu
Special Education Robert O’Neill rob.oneill@utah.edu
Engineering College Advisor Dianne Leonard dleonard@coe.utah.edu
Bioengineering Kelly Broadhead kelly.broadhead@utah.edu
Chemical Geoff Silcox geoff@che.utah.edu
Civil & Environmental Michael Barber michael.barber@utah.edu
Computer Science Erin Parker parker@cs.utah.edu
Electrical Neil Cotter necotter@ece.utah.edu
Materials Science Dinesh Shetty d.shetty@utah.edu
Mechanical Kuan Chen chen@mech.utah.edu
Fine Arts College Advisors Emily Beard emily.beard@utah.edu
Jennifer Mc Laurin jennifer.mclaurin@utah.edu
Andrew Grace andrew.grace@utah.edu
Art Wendy Wishcher wendy.wischer@utah.edu
Art History Paul “Monty” Paret paul.paret@utah.edu
Ballet Melonie Murray melonie.murray@utah.edu
Film and Media Arts Connie J Wilkerson connie.wilkerson@utah.edu
Modern Dance Ellen Bromberg e.bromberg@m.cc.utah.edu
Music James Gardner jas.gardner@utah.edu
Theatre Tim Slover Slover31@comcast.net
Health  Speech and Hearing Science  Janet Shaw  janet.shaw@hsc.utah.edu
Athletic Training Janet Shaw janet.shaw@hsc.utah.edu
Exercise and Sports Science  Janet Shaw  janet.shaw@hsc.utah.edu
Health Promotion and Education (HPE)  Janet Shaw  janet.shaw@hsc.utah.edu
Parks, Recreation and Tourism  Janet Shaw  janet.shaw@hsc.utah.edu
Physical Ed Teacher Education (PETE) Janet Shaw janet.shaw@hsc.utah.edu
Recreational Therapy Janet Shaw janet.shaw@hsc.utah.edu
Humanities Asian Studies Kim Korinek kim.korinek@soc.utah.edu
Communication Tasha Seegert n.seegert@utah.edu
English Disa Gambera d.gambera@utah.edu
History Benjamin Cohen  benjamin.cohen@utah.edu
International Studies Hugh Cagle hugh.cagle@utah.edu
Languages and Literature Margaret Wan margaret.wan@utah.edu
Latin American Studies Claudio Holzner claudio.holzner@poli-sci.utah.edu
Linguistics Aaron Kaplan a.kaplan@utah.edu
Middle East Nathan Devir nathan.devir@utah.edu
Peace and Conflict Studies David Derezotes david.derezotes@socwk.utah.edu
Philosophy Lex Newman lex.newman@utah.edu
Religious Studies Nathan Devir nathan.devir@utah.edu
Writing and Rhetoric Studies Maureen Mathison maureen.mathison@utah.edu
Law Pre-law Amy Urbanek aurbanek@uc.utah.edu
Medicine Medical Laboratory Science Diana Wilkins Diana.Wilkins@utah.edu
Pre-medicine John Nilsson jnilsson@uc.utah.edu
Mayumi Kasai mkasai@uc.utah.edu
Mines and Earth Sciences College Advisor Barbara Nash barb.nash@utah.edu
801-581-8587
Nursing Alexa Doig alexa.doig@nurs.utah.edu
Science  Biology Michael Bastiani bastiani@biology.utah.edu
Chemistry Tom Richmond richmond@chem.utah.edu
Mathematics Alla Borisyuk borisyuk@math.utah.edu
Angie Gardiner advisor@math.utah.edu
Physics Anil Seth aseth@astro.utah.edu
Social and Behavioral Science Anthropology Brian Codding brian.codding@anthro.utah.edu
Health, Society and Policy Rebecca Utz rebecca.utz@soc.utah.edu
Economics Cihan Bilginsoy bilginsoy@economics.utah.edu
Environmental Studies Brett Clark brettclark@comcast.net
Human Development & Family Studies / Consumer & Community Studies Lori Kowaleski-Jones lk2700@fcs.utah.edu
Geography Summer Rupper summer.rupper@geog.utah.edu
Political Science Ella Myers ella.myers@utah.edu
Psychology Jeanine Stefanucci jeanine.stefanucci@psych.utah.edu
Sociology Claudia Geist claudia.geist@soc.utah.edu
Social Work Jason Castillo Jason.Castillo@socwk.utah.edu
School for Social and Cultural Transformation Ethnic Studies Ed Munoz ed.munoz@utah.edu
Gender Studies Kim Hackford-Peer kim.hackford-peer@utah.edu

Last updated August 2017