Honors Faculty Advisors

The Honors College and departments across campus have provided an Honors Faculty Advisor for students in every college. Faculty advisors can help you explore ideas for your thesis, connect with other faculty in the department to supervise your thesis work and, in some cases, develop a plan to complete Honors track requirements.

Departmental Honors tracks have specific course requirements that must be completed to earn an Honors degree. Students need to meet with the Honors Faculty Advisor in their department to be admitted to the Honors track and fulfill track requirements. Confirm whether your major has an Honors track in the table below.

College

Department  

Honors Advisor

Email

Honors Track

Architecture + Planning College Advisor Zachary Franzoni advisor@arch.utah.edu
Architecture Mira Locher locher@arch.utah.edu Program Description
City & Metropolitan Planning Keith Bartholomew bartholomew@arch.utah.edu Program Description
Multi-Disciplinary Design Jim Agutter agutterja@arch.utah.edu
Business Undergraduate Advising Services (academic advising) advising@eccles.utah.edu  Program Description
Accounting (thesis advising) Roger Silvers Roger.Silvers@Eccles.Utah.edu Program Description
Finance (thesis advising)

Matt Ringgenberg

matthew.ringgenberg@eccles.utah.edu

Program Description
Information Systems, Operations Management (thesis advising) Vandana Ramachandran vandana.ramachandran@eccles.utah.edu  Program Description
Marketing (thesis advising) Ian Skurnik Ian.Skurnik@Eccles.Utah.edu  Program Description
Business Administration (thesis advising) Jess Taverna Jessica.Taverna@Eccles.Utah.edu  Program Description
Entrepreneurship (thesis advising) Brad Williams Brad.Williams@Eccles.Utah.edu  Program Description
Management (thesis advising) Harris Sondak harris.sondak@eccles.utah.edu  Program Description
Education Elementary Education Mary Burbank mary.burbank@utah.edu Program Description
Special Education Robert O’Neill rob.oneill@utah.edu
Engineering College Advisor Dianne Leonard dleonard@coe.utah.edu
801-585-7769
Program Description 
Bioengineering Kelly Broadhead kelly.broadhead@utah.edu Program Description 
Chemical Geoff Silcox geoff@che.utah.edu Program Description 
Civil & Environmental Michael Barber michael.barber@utah.edu Program Description 
Computer Science Erin Parker parker@cs.utah.edu Program Description 
Electrical Neil Cotter necotter@ece.utah.edu Program Description 
Materials Science Dinesh Shetty d.shetty@utah.edu Program Description 
Mechanical Kuan Chen chen@mech.utah.edu Program Description 
Fine Arts College Advisor Kira Jones kjones@uc.utah.edu
Jennifer Mc Laurin jennifer.mclaurin@utah.edu
Andrew Grace andrew.grace@utah.edu
Art Wendy Wishcher wendy.wischer@utah.edu
Art History Paul “Monty” Paret paul.paret@utah.edu
Ballet Richard Wacko richard.wacko@m.cc.utah.edu
Film and Media Arts Connie J Wilkerson connie.wilkerson@utah.edu
Modern Dance Ellen Bromberg e.bromberg@m.cc.utah.edu
Music James Gardner jas.gardner@utah.edu
Theatre Tim Slover Slover31@comcast.net
Health  Speech and Hearing Science  Janet Shaw  janet.shaw@hsc.utah.edu
Athletic Training Janet Shaw janet.shaw@hsc.utah.edu
Exercise and Sports Science  Janet Shaw  janet.shaw@hsc.utah.edu
Health Promotion and Education (HPE)  Janet Shaw  janet.shaw@hsc.utah.edu
Parks, Recreation and Tourism  Janet Shaw  janet.shaw@hsc.utah.edu
Physical Ed Teacher Education (PETE) Janet Shaw janet.shaw@hsc.utah.edu
Recreational Therapy Janet Shaw

janet.shaw@hsc.utah.edu

Humanities Asian Studies Janet Theiss janet.theiss@m.cc.utah.edu
Communication Tasha Seegert n.seegert@utah.edu
English Disa Gambera d.gambera@utah.edu
History Matthew Basso matt.basso@utah.edu
International Studies Johanna Watzinger-Tharp

j.tharp@utah.edu

Languages and Literature Eric Laursen eric.laursen@m.cc.utah.edu
Latin American Studies Claudio Holzner claudio.holzner@poli-sci.utah.edu
Linguistics Aaron Kaplan a.kaplan@utah.edu
Middle East Nathan Devir nathan.devir@utah.edu
Peace and Conflict Studies David Derezotes

david.derezotes@socwk.utah.edu

Philosophy Lex Newman lex.newman@utah.edu Program Description
Religious Studies Nathan Devir

nathan.devir@utah.edu

Writing and Rhetoric Studies Maureen Mathison

maureen.mathison@utah.edu

Law Pre-law Amy Urbanek aurbanek@uc.utah.edu
Medicine Medical Laboratory Science JoAnn Fenn jfenn@path.utah.edu
Pre-medicine John Nilsson jnilsson@uc.utah.edu
Mayumi Kasai mkasai@uc.utah.edu
Mines and Earth Sciences College Advisor Barbara Nash barb.nash@utah.edu
801-581-8587
Nursing Alexa Doig alexa.doig@nurs.utah.edu
Science Biology Martin Horvath

horvath@biology.utah.edu

Program Description 
David Gard advising@biology.utah.edu
Chemistry Tom Richmond richmond@chem.utah.edu
Mathematics Alla Borisyuk borisyuk@math.utah.edu Program Description
Angie Gardiner advisor@math.utah.edu
Physics Anil Seth aseth@astro.utah.edu Program Description
Social and Behavioral Science Anthropology Brian Codding

brian.codding@anthro.utah.edu

Health, Society and Policy Rebecca Utz

rebecca.utz@soc.utah.edu

Economics Cihan Bilginsoy bilginsoy@economics.utah.edu
Environmental Studies Brett Clark brettclark@comcast.net
Ethnic Studies Ed Munoz

ed.munoz@utah.edu

Family and Consumer Studies Kevin Rathunde

kevin.rathunde@fcs.utah.edu

Consumer & Community Studies Robert Mayer robert.mayer@fcs.utah.edu
Gender Studies Kim Hackford-Peer kim.hackford-peer@utah.edu
Geography Simon Brewer simon.brewer@geog.utah.edu
Political Science Matthew Burbank mburbank@poli-sci.utah.edu
Psychology Kristina Rand kristina.rand@utah.edu Program Description
Jeanine Stefanucci jeanine.stefanucci@psych.utah.edu Program Description
Sociology Heather Melton heather.melton@soc.utah.edu Program Description 
Social Work Jason Castillo Jason.Castillo@socwk.utah.edu

Last updated August 2015